The Structure of Rugby in Scotland

National Body

Scottish Rugby is the national body for the sport of rugby with responsibility for the governance of the game. It presides over a thriving game in Scotland from grassroots level through to the two pro clubs and the international teams.


With 143 full member clubs and an additional 135 associate member clubs the sport is extensively played across Scotland. Scottish Rugby’s Club Finder provides location and contact details for rugby clubs across the country.

Pro Clubs

Glasgow Warriors and Edinburgh Rugby represent Scotland in the GUINNESS PRO12 League and compete against each other for the 1872 Cup, an annual derby contest played over two matches.


BT Sport Scottish Rugby Academies support the most promising male and female rugby players across Scotland through four regional centres. The Academies are based at Galashiels, Aberdeen, Edinburgh and Cumbernauld.

International Teams

Scottish Rugby manages a range of international teams including the Scotland Men’s National Team and Scotland Women’s National TeamThe Scotland Club XV team represents the very best of players from the BT Premiership. There is also a Scotland Men’s 7s team and Scotland Women’s 7s team who represent Scotland at seven a side rugby.


Sports Heritage Scotland was established in 2015 by national sporting bodies and heritage organisations representing the sports of cricket, curling, golf, football, rugby and shinty.

+44 (0)141 616 6115


Sports Heritage Scotland
The Memories Project
Hampden Park, Glasgow, G42 9BA